Ayurvedic Treatment

Principles of Ayurveda

The Six Tastes

  • The sweet taste build body mass and creates a lubricating effect.
  • The sour taste contributes to mass and increases both chemical and physical heat in the body.
  • The salty taste is lubricating and increases heat in the system.
  • The pungent taste fosters heat and dryness.
  • The bitter taste is the most drying and depleting to the system.
  • The astringent taste has a compacting and densifying effect.


Vata, Pitta and Kapha are the names of Tridoshas. Vata (air), Pitta (bile) and Kapha (phlegm). Doshas are basically three different forms of energy. The three doshas contain two of the five elements as any other matter. The Doshas work as a team in a natural healthy individual. Perfect balance of these three Doshas (energies) is the basis of well being. These constituents give specific properties to Doshas with each Dosha having one property particular to itself and two opposite to others. Hence the character of Doshas is influenced mainly by what is eaten as also by temperature, season, mental state etc. In most persons either one or combination of Doshas would be dominant. This defines the constitution of the person.

The Three Doshas

  • Kapha (Water element)
  • Pitta (Fire element)
  • Vata (Air element)

Panchbhoutic Siddhanth

The concept of "Panchamahabhoota" is of vital importance to understand physiology, pathology & pharmaco-kinetics of Ayurvedic Therapeutics. Phrithwi, Aapa, Teja, Vayu and Akasha are the five (Pancha) basic elements of all matters, and collectively they are known as Panchamahabhoota. These are the smallest elements, which constitute living and non-living matters. Every thing, including medicines and living beings are made of these basic elements. Every matter contains all of these five elements.


The concept of Agni is very peculiar to Ayurved. This Agni provides the energy necessary for all activities in our body. Biological Agni transforms the energy in the food to the energy, which can be utilized by our cells. Entire Ayurvedic therapeutics is based on this concept of Agni.


According to Ayurveda, we are made up of seven Dhaatus or elements (tissues), these elements are physical in nature and they follow a sequence. The Dhaatus are formed from the food we eat through the process of metabolism. The health of these seven elements in the body decides the overall health of the person.

The Seven Dhaatus are

  • Rasa
  • Rakta
  • Mamsa
  • Meda
  • Asthi
  • Majja
  • Shukra Oja


The elimination of the waste products is as important as eating and drinking, the dissipation of the waste gives space for fresh material and the cycle goes on, this cycle should go on smoothly which can be easily achieved through following a proper daily routine or the 'Dincharya'. Principally there are three types of waste products or Malas:

  • Shakrit (Stool)
  • Mootra (Urine)
  • Sweda (Sweat)

Sign up for Newsletter

Copyright © 2016, Ayurvedayogashram. All Rights Reserved.
Website Designed & Developed By Net Soft Lab.